Limani- an upscale Greek Mediterranean dining oasis in the heart of Manhattan

Limani Dining Room

Limani Dining Room

Upon entering Limani you are immediately brought into a state of calmness and tranquility, surrounded by an all white setting and the contrasting and beautiful turquoise water feature in the center of the restaurant. It is quite the contrast from the busy city streets outside. The bar area to the side of the restaurant is soothing as it is bathed in soft blue lighting.

Bar area

Bar area

In the back of the restaurant is a fresh fish section where you can choose one of the many delicious and fresh catches of the day for your dinner.

Fresh Fish

Fresh Fish

I was seated in a table in the middle of the restaurant from where I could visually absorb the decor of the restaurant, with its white table cloths, white chairs, and even the curved booths wrapped in white leather. Above the water feature is a mobile or blue and white crystal shaped fish. It is certainly a unique setting in which to dine. Limani will be celebrating its one year anniversary in November and I feel this is a treasure of a dining experience you must experience.
The menu focus is on Greek and Mediterranean food with an emphasis on fresh grilled and baked seafood.

I began my meal with grilled Octopus which was marinated for four hours in white wine, lemon and olive oil.

Grilled Octopus

Grilled Octopus

The octopus is flown in from  far away Tunisia and the delectable taste was immediate. There were capers as well and a light white wine finishing broth. This octopus dish was soft and scrumptious. I cherished every bite and would highly recommend this appetizer as a delicious and healthy start to their meal.

I chose grilled lobster with asparagus for my main course. The lobster was butterflied and grilled to perfection and served with a side of melted butter.

Grilled Lobster

Grilled Lobster

The lobster was so expertly prepared I did not need the additional butter. There were many choices on the menu, but I do love my lobster and I was not disappointed.

I finished my meal with a walnut sponge cake accompanied by a scoop of lavender ice cream (Karidopita). The cake was light and airy and was a fine way to top off my meal.

Walnut cake with Lavender Ice cream

Walnut cake with Lavender Ice cream

Greek Yogurt with Honey

Greek Yogurt with Honey

IMG_6959 (1)

Cappuccino art

I would certainly place Limani high on my list for a night out in New York City. It is located in Rockefeller Plaza and it is right in the heart of all the city has to offer. The service was impeccable from start to finish. The unique and serene interior coupled with the excellent menu will have you returning to dine again. Don’t miss this gem.

exterior

Limani
45 Rockefeller Plaza N.Y. N.Y
Phone: 212-858-9200

web:http://www.limani.com

Leave a Reply

